Deep in thought lately

I finally got back on the road this weekend.  Not that I long for windshield time, but after the winter in Pierre, I had gotten used to the time to be alone in my thoughts.  Between the Blue Ribbons, petition drives, and the Supreme Court, there is plenty to ponder lately.  I find myself looking for meaning and coming up short. There is no magic connection to just plug in and fix all the disagreements we have in our state or especially our country overnight.

To me, the youth minimum wage discussion is this simple.  If two similarly trained 22 year olds were interviewing for the same job, who do you think would get hired–the one with actual work experience or the one who’s never held a job? To me, it was a common sense vote, and I hope teenagers can keep a small leg up on their job search.

If you want to circulate a petition, I believe that every political party has to play by the same rules, and the Secretary of State asked for more time to validate signatures.  That’s all SB69 was to me, but it’s a referred law now.

South Dakota has a unique history of referring laws to voters.  I am proud of our history and welcome the challenge.  I stood by my votes when I took them in Pierre and I’ll stand with them through another campaign.

These are just some of the things that keep me thinking.    If you could wave a magic wand and fix problems in South Dakota, what problems would you fix and what is your desired outcome?  I’d love to hear it wiikfor4@gmail.com

Leave a comment